Go to Appearance > Menu to set Top Menu
Perth Glory Premiers Plate 2018-19

Perth Glory Claim Their First A-League Premiership

Perth Glory have claimed their first A-League Premiership following their 1-0 victory over the Newcastle Jets this evening.

In front of 11,349 supporters at HBF Park, a second half strike from defender Ivan Franjic helped lift Tony Popovic’s side to a narrow victory over the Novocastrians.

Last night Sydney FC’s hopes of claiming the A-League 2019 Premiership suffered a blow after they drew 1-1 with Western Sydney Wanderers FC in the Sydney Derby at ANZ Stadium.

And with Perth winning in the west this evening, the Glory can no longer be caught by the Sky Blues atop the A-League 2018/19 standings.

Football Federation Australia (FFA) Chairman Chris Nikou congratulated Perth Glory on their achievement.

“Perth Glory are a proud club with a proud history and are definitely deserved A-League Premiers following their outstanding season,” Nikou said.

“Glory won two Premierships in the National Soccer League era, however this is their first in the A-League and I am sure everyone involved with their Club will be thrilled with the achievement.

“We congratulate Perth Glory Head Coach Tony Popovic, his coaching staff, captain Diego Castro and all the players for their outstanding performances throughout the A-League 2018/19 season.

“We also congratulate Perth Glory Owner and Club Chairman Tony Sage, someone who has invested significantly into the Glory over a long period of time, and recognise Chief Executive Officer Tony Pignata and the Perth Glory support staff for their efforts and contributions to help this team claim their first A-League Premiership.

“I am sure that Perth Glory will be looking to add the A-League Championship Trophy to their collection as we enter the A-League 2019 Finals Series in a few weeks’ time,” he said.

The A-League 2018/19 Premiers Plate was presented to Perth Glory at the conclusion of their round 25 win over Newcastle Jets.

Perth Glory will host their A-League 2019 Semi Final on Friday 10 May at HBF Park against the lowest ranked winner from the A-League 2019 Elimination Finals the previous week.

Tickets for the match will go on sale to Perth Glory Platinum members from Monday, 29 April with the Football Family and General Public on-sale from Tuesday, 7 May (see https://www.a-league.com.au/tickets for further details).

The A-League 2019 Finals Series will be broadcast live on FOX SPORTS, 10 Bold, and the My Football Live App, Live, Fast and Data Free for Telstra mobile customers.

History Of A-League Premiers

2005/06Adelaide United
2006/07Melbourne Victory
2007/08Central Coast Mariners
2008/09Melbourne Victory
2009/10Sydney FC
2010/11Brisbane Roar FC
2011/12Central Coast Mariners
2012/13Western Sydney Wanderers FC
2013/14Brisbane Roar FC
2014/15Melbourne Victory
2015/16Adelaide United
2016/17Sydney FC
2017/18Sydney FC
2018/19Perth Glory

Click here to have the latest Australian football news delivered to your inbox weekly.

Test Yourself At The Australian Football Quiz

See https://www.austfootball.com/about-australian-football