Go to Appearance > Menu to set Top Menu

Sydney FC win thrilling W-League Grand Final

A Savannah McCaskill brace ultimately proved the difference for the Sky Blues who claimed their first Championship since 2013.


Windy conditions greeted the sides at Kogarah and it was Sydney who made the best start possible, getting the ball in the back of the net after five minutes courtesy of a worldie from Sofia Huerta.

The American gathered the ball outside the box and fired off a shot that buried itself in the top right corner.

Both sides then traded half chances and when the equaliser for Perth came it was once again Sam Kerr who provided the goods.

The Westfield Matildas striker set off on a run and drew a foul from Danielle Colaprico at the top of the penalty area before duly dispatching the subsequent spot kick.

Alanna Kennedy missed a header for the Sky Blues but McCaskill made no mistake with her effort on the eve of half-time, burying a Cailtin Foord cross with breathless technique.

McCaskill then seemingly put the game beyond the Glory’s reach when the American striker nabbed her brace with a well-struck shot into the bottom left corner.

The visitors wouldn’t die wondering however and Alyssa Mautz gave them hope when she buried an effort into the top right corner but their joy was short lived as the Sky Blues hit back within a minute.

Chloe Logarzo gathered the ball just outside the box and fired off a well-placed shot that had Eliza Campbell scrambling in goals.

Perth created a handful of half chances but Sydney held on to ensure the Westfield W-League trophy would call the Harbour City home.

Please follow us on Patreon or sign up to our email newsletter so that we can keep this website up and running and bringing you football news.

Don’t miss an official live stream by joining Australian Football Live Streams on Facebook.

See https://www.austfootball.com/about-australian-football